Home Page
James Brindley Community Primary School
‘Working together to fulfil potential’
Ofsted 2016-2017
Home Page Ofsted 2016-2017
James Brindley Community Primary School
‘Working together to fulfil potential’

2017 Walter Hesketh XC Relays - Saturday 04 March 2017

Glorious sunshine and World / Olympic medallist, Jenny Meadows, greeted our brave runners at Wythenshawe Park this morning. We were very intrigued by the format of the event and were delighted to be fielding 5 Girls Teams and 3 Boys Teams. While the course at Wythenshawe is completely flat, the water and mud on the course made for very heavy underfoot conditions.


In the girls race, there was a season debut for Charlotte Nangle and each of our 5 teams equipped themselves well with guidance and support from our fantastic parents and from the team captains. The final finishing positions aren't available yet but 'Team A' came a fantastic second place overall with captain Millie Bayman producing a stunning run on the day to claim the prize for the fastest individual leg. Captained by Anjali Mistry, 'Team B' claimed the prize for being the first 'B Team' across the line. Well done to all our girls for excellent efforts in the mud. All 20 of you equipped yourselves, wonderfully well. We're really proud of you all.


In the boys race, there were season debuts for James Taylor and Oliver Nangle. All 3 of our teams put in monumental efforts, as always. After a bad tumble in the first 50 metres, Josh Greenwood recovered very well to finish strongly and be our first boy home on leg 1. Oliver Nangle and Jake Royle produced excellent runs in the tough conditions while our older and more experienced runners made us equally proud with great performances and fantastic support and guidance given to those around them. A special mention must be reserved for Matthew Hughes who ran both the third and fourth legs to ensure his team could finish the race. It was a very brave act and Matthew rightly received congratulations from the officials on the finish line. Well done to all our boys for your fantastic enthusiasm. We're equally proud of you.


Our final thanks must go the unwavering support of all our parents. Thank you for bringing your children to the race and enthusiastically supporting all the James Brindley runners. We couldn't do it without you. 



Jasmine Wright
Amelia Stringer
Millie Bayman
Marissa Caldwell
Asha Mistry
Caitlin Lyth
Anjali Mistry
Sophia Roiditis
Emily Johnson
Evie Thompson
Kara Pritchard
Bailey-Rae O'Keefe
Imogen Pattison
Gabby Lyth
Erika Fowles
Khloe Boulter
Remmy Barnes-Malone
Charlotte Nangle
Grace Aylett
Abbeygale Luty


Harry Bayman
Jake Royle
Matthew Greenwood
James Taylor
Josh Greenwood
Oliver Nangle
Joseph Stringer
Kieran Boulter
Blake Farrow
Matthew Hughes

Girls Highlights - Part 1

Still image for this video

Girls Highlights- Part 2

Still image for this video

Boys Highlights- Part 1

Still image for this video

Boys Highlights- Part 2

Still image for this video